RSS

Hello everyone!

22 Jan

Hi!

I created this blog for my Intro to PR Writing class, and I have decided to write about this, my final semester at Southwest Minnesota State University. For my first post, though, I thought I’d tell you guys a little bit about myself. I have one older brother, Cole, who is my best friend and I also get along very well with both of my parents. They have been divorced since I was two and I split my time at home between my mom’s place and my brother’s place, where my dad also lives. I have one cat at each house, but my mom’s cat, Ginger, is currently living with my roommate, Amanda, and I. She’s a “bombshell” (her words, not mine) (Amanda, not the cat.) We spend most of our time watching Netflix, eating food, baking brownies, and going on midnight McDonald’s runs. I also enjoy obsessively staring at my cat and reading science-fiction novels.

I’m 20 years old and I am a Junior. The road to being able to graduate a year early has been…interesting. I was able to take a lot of college classes in high school and brought in about 30 credits or so as a freshman. I have been in the honors program throughout my college career letting me pick my liberal education core instead of taking the regular generals that everyone else has to. I’ve also never taken less than 18 credits every semester and this last semester I am taking 22 credits. Hence the title of my blog.

Dark at the End of the Struggle, a hopefully obvious play on the phrase “light at the end of the tunnel” denotes the crazy issues that students, and me specifically, have to deal with in their last semester of college…the end of a long struggle through education. Please don’t think that I am completely pessimistic about this! I have had some really great times and made some fabulous memories here. I wouldn’t want to turn anyone off from this blog by making them think that it’ll just be me complaining about my oh so very sad life as a white girl with the opportunity to better herself through higher education. I plan to use this blog as a therapeutic log where I will recount my experiences in a (hopefully) witty and hilarious fashion. We’ll see if I’m successful.

Happy blogging!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 22, 2015 in Introduction

 

One response to “Hello everyone!

  1. courtneyschneider

    February 1, 2015 at 10:52 pm

    I totally get the stress of taking a full load of credits. School along with balancing other aspects of college life like a job, friends, extracurricular activities, and family time can be so overwhelming. I think its really important to find a way to release the built up stress and this sounds like it could be a great outlet for you. Although completing your college career can be stressful, there is so much to look forward to upon graduation! Best of luck this semester.

    Like

     

Leave a comment